Dec 03

Whoa… Facebook Phishing?

Tag: computers & internetDonna B. @ 3:14 am

facebook-phishing.jpgThis is what Chrome displayed when I tried to open my Facebook page. Where did static.ak.fbcdn.net come from? Anyway, I’m not going to Facebook right now, rather I’m going to bed leaving Symantec doing a thorough scan while I sleep.

I’m too old to be dealing with this crap, you know?

UPDATE: static.ak.fbcdn.net — apparently that’s legit. It’s used by Facebook to serve static data such as stylesheets and images. I got that info here: http://forum.developers.facebook.com/viewtopic.php?pid=93098.

Also, check out this TechCrunch article from earlier this year: Phishing Scam Targeting Facebook Users

6 Responses to “Whoa… Facebook Phishing?”

  1. Tara says:

    I’ve started getting the same thing this morning! I’ve noticed after some searching that others are as well! Hmmm.

  2. duprdo says:

    I have experienced exactly the same problem in the morning. Does sbd know how to solve it?

  3. Zain says:

    Same problem here… apparently its only with chrome :S

  4. Donna B. says:

    Whatever it is or was, nothing that Symantec can find did anything to my computer from previous visits to Facebook, and I’m not getting that message this morning.

  5. Talina says:

    It is good that you are being careful, I use myspace and phishing is rampant on there! Better safe than sorry.

  6. Lori says:

    Hmm,, my facebook was fine. I find some applications on there were soooooo slow today, don’t know if that is from too many users, or just my lazy laptop.

Leave a Reply